Mexico, Canada Invited To Join TPP

The nine partner countries participating in the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Agreement
negotiations have invited Mexico and Canada to join the negotiations, pending the successful
conclusion of domestic procedures.

TPP member countries currently include the United States as well as Australia, Brunei
Darussalam, Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

As partners with the United States in the North American Tree Trade Agreement (NAFTA),
signed in 1994, Canada and Mexico, respectively, are currently the United States’ largest and
second-largest trading partners. The TPP region in its current makeup is the United States’
fourth-largest trading partner. As TPP partners, Canada and Mexico would benefit from additional
trade provisions that are not included in NAFTA, and the two countries’ inclusion would make the
TPP region the largest export market for U.S. manufactured goods, agricultural products and

After the Obama administration notifies Congress of its intention to bring Mexico and Canada
into the TPP negotiations, there will be a 90-day period of consultation with Congress covering
U.S. negotiating goals in regards to each of the two countries. USTR will also seek public

The 13th round of negotiations among the current TPP partners was held July 2-10 in San

July/August 2012