AATCC Announces Student Winners For Innovative Product Development

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. — June 9, 2011 — AATCC announces the winners of its sixth annual
Materials Research Poster Competition for students. The competition (developed by AATCC’s Materials
Interest Group) aims to promote innovative product development from a material structures design
perspective. Submissions were invited from both graduate and undergraduate students. All entries
were evaluated on concept originality, research quality, clarity, and results.

Winning entries in each category received cash awards of US$1,000 for First Place and US$500
for Second Place. Winners also receive complimentary student registrations for the 2012 AATCC
International Conference. 

Industrial/Technical/Sports Materials

1st Place:
An Investigative Study: Heat Dissipation in Firefighter Suits by Julisha Joyner, Doniece
Bolds & Michael Charguluaf of North Carolina State University

2nd Place:
Zar Golf…When Technology Meets Fashion by Jessica Salazar of Texas State University

Medical/Biomedical/Protective Materials and Devices 

1st Place:
Citric Acid Crosslinked Electrospun Zein Fibers for Biomedical Applications by Qiuran
Jiang & Wei Li of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln

2nd Place:
Fabrication of Hollow Nanoparticles from Corn Storage Protein Zein for Potential Biomedical
by Helan Xu & Yue Zhang of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln 

Functional/Smart/Nano Materials 

1st Place: 
Zinc Oxide/Nylon 6 Plasma-Assisted Electrospun Fibers for Warfare Protective Applications
by Narendiran Vitchuli, Joshua Nowak, Rupesh Nawalakhe & Michael Sieber of North Carolina State

2nd Place:
Fluorescent Surface Coatings for Aerospace Composite Damage Detection by Ryan Toivola of
the University of Washington

Entries were judged by: Radhakrishnaiah Parachuru, Georgia Tech, Robina Hogan, Omni Tech
International/Hogan Consulting, and Perry Grady, North Carolina State University/AATCC.

Posted on June 10, 2011

Source: AATCC