AATCC Presents 2010 Materials Competition Winners

The Research Triangle Park, N.C.-based American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists
(AATCC) has announced the winners of its fifth annual Materials Competition, created by the
Materials Interest Group to promote innovative product development from a material structures
design perspective. Competition participants included both graduate and undergraduate students.

Entries were judged on criteria including concept originality, design element integration,
technical feasibility, clarity of supporting documentation, and technical and materials rationale.
The first place award, including a cash prize of $1,000, was presented to Garry Atkinson of North
Carolina State University (NCSU) for his Anti-Microbial Tactical Boot. The second place award,
including a $500 cash prize, was presented to Andrea Rivas, Lindsay Remington, Katie Voytko and
Anna Clark of NCSU for their ProTech-tive Apparel.

The winners also were awarded complimentary registrations for the 2011 AATCC International
Conference, which will be held March 22-24, 2011, in Charleston, S.C.

June 15, 2010