ATHF Inducts Four U S Textile Industry Leaders

ATHF Inducts FourU.S. Textile Industry LeadersIn a ceremony held Sept. 9 at the American Textile
History Museum, Lowell, Mass., the American Textile Hall of Fame (ATHF) inducted four U.S. textile
industry leaders into its Class of 2002. Inductees include: E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co.,
Wilmington, Del.; Frederick B. Dent, former chairman, Mayfair Mills, Spartanburg, and secretary of
commerce under Presidents Nixon and Ford; James Spencer Love (1896-1962), founder, Burlington
Industries, Greensboro, N.C.; and Whitin Machine Works, Whitinsville, Mass., founded in 1847 by
John C. Whitin, inventor of the Whitin picker for cleaning cotton.
October 2002