August 2004

Culp Inc., High Point, N.C., has made the following appointments:

Howard L. Dunn
, vice chairman;

Franklin N. Saxon
, president and COO;

Rodney A. Smith
, president, Culp Decorative Fabrics;

Boyd B. Chumbley
, president, Culp Velvets/Prints; and

Robert G. Culp IV
, president, Culp Home Fashions.

Gerber Technology, Tolland, Conn., has named

Rachel Ho
marketing director, Asia.



The Hosiery Association, Charlotte, recently elected

Fritz Schulte
, Accessory Source LLC, chairman;

Jonathan Shugart
, W.Y. Shugart & Sons Inc., first vice chairman; and

Larry Small
, Acme-McCrary Corp., second vice chairman.

Huntley Bossong
, Bossong Hosiery Mills Inc.;

Robby Davis
, DeSoto Mills Inc.;

Becky Lessard
, Fox River Mills;

Bill Nichol
, Kentucky Derby Hosiery;

Alan Parker
, PAM Trading Corp.; and

Ray Walker
, Moretz Inc., were elected to first terms as hosiery manufacturer and supplier

Wilmington, Del.-based
Optimer Performance Fibers has promoted

Karen Deniz
to president, European Division.

CHT R. Beitlich Corp., Charlotte, has named

Barry L. Ferguson
vice president of sales.



Wichita, Kan.-based
INVISTA™ Inc.’s Kennesaw, Ga.-based Invista Interiors organization has made the
following appointments:

Bobby Berrier
, vice president, commercial/transportation flooring;

Steve Griffith
, vice president, residential flooring;

Ana Torrence
, vice president, home/hospitality interiors;

Nelson Altero
, business director, South America;

Dilip Kumar
, vice president, interiors, Asia Pacific;

Russell Pike
, vice president, interiors, Europe; and

Harry Dickerson
global technology director.

Wacker Chemical Corp., Adrian, Mich., has appointed

Joseph Wilson Jr.
vice president, performance materials, Wacker Silicones.

The Lowell, Mass.-based
American Textile History Museum recently elected

Normand E. Deschene
, Lowell General Hospital;

Diana Prideaux-Brune
, University of Massachusetts Lowell; and

David A. Webster
, Webster & Co. Ltd, to its Board of Trustees. The museum re-elected

John E. Pearson Jr.
, Butler Bank and Pearson & Pearson LLP, chairman;

Michael J. Smith
president and CEO;

Hiram M. Samel
, Merida Meridian Inc., vice chairman;

Marguerite Church
secretary and clerk;

Kenneth J. McAvoy
treasurer; and

Jonathan Stevens
, Ames Textile Corp., assistant treasurer.

Michael Penn
has joined
Karen Neuburger/KN Ltd., San Rafael, Calif., as vice president, brand



The Atlanta-based
Association of Georgia’s Textile, Carpet and Consumer Products Manufacturers
has elected

Donald R. Henderson
, Mount Vernon Mills Inc., chairman;

J. Tom Watters
, Syntec Industries, vice chairman;

David C. Clarke
, Royal Ten Cate USA, treasurer; and

Elizabeth Hopkins

Richard P. Strawhorn
, Mohawk Industries Inc.;

Merritt Loring
, Victor Forstmann Inc.;

Miles Wright
, Mannington Carpets Inc.;

Bill Shapard
, American Mills Inc.;

Russell Grizzle
, Milliken & Company; and

Bob Hammersla
, Engineering Textile Group Inc., were appointed to the Board of Directors.

Roy Bowen
was re-elected president of the board.

International Rayon and Synthetic Fibers Committee (CIRFS), Brussels, has

Omer Sabanci

Textile Education Foundation Inc., Atlanta, has elected

John Cahill
, Ten Cate Nicolon USA, president;

Douglas R. Tingle
, 1888 Mills LLC, vice president;

Jim Prater
, Shaw Industries Inc., treasurer; and

Elizabeth Hopkins

Roy Bowen
was re-elected executive vice president.

Thomas Little

Doug Hettinger
, Ethicon Inc.; and

Mike Hopp
, Mannington Carpets Inc., were elected to the Board of Directors.

Southern Textile Research Conference, operating under the auspices of the
American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists, Research Triangle Park,
N.C., recently presented Luther B. Arnold scholarships to

Kelly Grogan
, Clemson University, and

Katie Hudson
, Auburn University.

August 2004