October 2002

Textile Education Foundation (TEF), Atlanta, elected the following officers at its
59th Annual Meeting in Ponte Vedra, Fla.:
Richard P. Strawhorn, Mohawk Industries, president;
Lee S. Bryan, Mount Vernon Mills, vice president; and
John Cahill, Ten Cate Nicolon USA, treasurer. Elected to three-year terms on the
board were
Hank Millsaps, Collins & Aikman Floorcoverings;
Larry Porter, Mount Vernon Mills; and
Denise Statham, Southern Mills Inc. Elected to fill unexpired terms on the board
Harry Batty, Sylvania Yarn Systems; and
Jimmy L. Prater, Shaw Industries. The foundation re-elected
Roy Bowen executive vice president and
Suzanne Wilkes secretary.

Instrumar Ltd., Mount. Pleasant, S.C., has named
James F. Heslep III president of its Attalus™ Fiber System business.


VEIT GmbH & Co., Germany, has named
Paula O’Brien marketing and training specialist for the VEIT Group.

Paul R. Carter, president of Wal-Mart Realty Co. and executive vice president of
Wal-Mart Stores Inc., has joined Cincinnati-based
Cintas Corp.’s Board of Directors.

Nancy Golden and
Steven Hoffman have assumed additional responsibilities at
WestPoint Stevens Inc., West Point, Ga. Golden is now vice president, creative
services/licensing, while Hoffman is now vice president, marketing services/licenses.

Al Simpson has joined
Raitech Inc., Charlotte, as director of sales for the Americas.


Alloy Polymers Inc., Richmond, Va., has named
Paul Bryant vice president, sales and marketing.

Maidenform Inc., Bayonne, N.J., has named
Denis W. Campion senior vice president, sourcing and product development.

Kellwood Co., New York City, has appointed
Paul Robb president, Kellwood Menswear;
Kunal Shah, design director, Sangria™, E.N.C. Division;
Kevin McCourt, vice president, finance, Halmode Apparel Division; and
Debby Long, senior vice president, sales and merchandising, Kellwood Intimate
Apparel’s Crowntuft Division.

Rutland Plastic Technologies, Pineville, N.C., has named
Nancy Gray Latin American regional manager.


Nordson Corp., Duluth, Ga., has named
Ruth C. Smith vice president, operations, for its adhesive systems business

Springs Industries Inc., Fort Mill, S.C., has announced the following appointments
to its soft windows business:
Kathryn Welsh, vice president, merchandising;
Don Johnson, senior merchandising manager; and
Gary Kitchens, merchandising manager.
Scott Blankshine,
Jo Dell Grissom-Proctor,
Denise Mehring,
Chuck Ream,
Mike Stewart and
Joe Vale have joined Springs’ sales organization.
Allen Best,
Jim Dyson,
Terry Houston,
Kelly Stinchfield,
Billie Wells and
Dennis Williamson have been appointed to Springs’ operation areas.

Johnston Industries Inc., Columbus, Ga., has inducted the following employees into
its Award of Excellence Program:
Christopher G. Allen,
Judith A. Hartcorn,
Michael Hudson,
Tamir Levy,
Morgan Marlowe,
Charles E. McCutchen,
Ricky D. Moore,
Tommy Romaine,
James W. Thomas and
William A. Turner.

Rieter Group, Switzerland, has appointed
Erwin Stoller CEO of the Automotive Systems Division.
Peter Gnägi will succeed Stoller as head of the Textile Systems Division. Gnägi
also has been appointed a member of the Group Executive Committee.

Peter Landl has been appointed president and CEO of
Lenzing Fibers Corp., Lowland, Tenn.

VDMA Textile Machinery Association, Germany, has elected
Heinrich Trützschler, Trützschler GmbH & Co. KG, president.
Johann-Phillip Dilo, Oskar Dilo Maschinenfabrik KG, has been elected vice

Lectra, Atlanta, has appointed
Amy Craig marketing communications manager and
Kim Majure marketing events manager.

Mount Vernon Mills Inc., Greenville, has promoted
William E. Duncan to vice president, purchasing.

October 2002