AATCC Announces Winners Of Seventh Annual Materials Research Poster Competition

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. — June 19, 2012 — The winners of the 2012 AATCC Materials Research
Poster Competition have been selected. The competition (developed by AATCC’s Materials Interest
Group) aims to promote innovative product development from a material structures design
perspective. Submissions were invited from both graduate and undergraduate students.

The three themes/categories of this year’s competition were:
Industrial/Technical/Sports Materials,
Medical/Biomedical/Protective Materials and Devices, and
Functional/Smart/Nano Materials.

And the winners are: 

Industrial/Technical/Sports Materials

§  1st Place –
Noise/Sound Reduction Boards for Student Housing by Courtney Milliner, Joshua Cole,
Elizabeth Brannon & Hannah Mangum of North Carolina State University

§  2nd Place –
Comparative Study for a Preventative Turf Toe Cleat by Brittainy Krohn & Ugur Kolunsag
of Philadelphia University

Medical/Biomedical/Protective Materials and Devices

§  1st Place –
Anterior Cruciate Ligament Regenerative Device by Cameron Carter, Grace Ridge, Justin
Myers & Brittany Knox of North Carolina State University

§  2nd Place –
Water Stable Plant Protein Film from Camelina for Tissue Engineering by Yi Zhao &
Qiuran Jiang of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Functional/Smart/Nano Materials

§  1st Place –
Nanowire-Structured Based Hybrid Cell for Harvesting Solar and Mechanical Energies by Chen
Xu of Georgia Institute of Technology

§  2nd Place –
Effects of Long-term Chemical Treatment on the Electrical Resistance of
Poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) on Textiles
by Christopher DiFranco & Jinlin Cai of the
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

All winning entries will receive cash awards of $1,000 for First Place and $500 for Second
Place in each category. The winners will also receive complimentary student registration(s) for the
2013 AATCC International Conference. To date, AATCC has awarded $17,000 in prizes to winners of the
annual Materials Research Poster Competition. 

This year the contest received a record number of entries. All were evaluated on concept
originality and research quality, clarity, plus results/discussions/conclusions. The entries for
2012 were of such high quality the judges had a difficult task determining the winners.

AATCC gratefully thanks the judges of this year’s competition:

Dr. Radhakrishnaiah Parachuru – Georgia Institute of Technology (PTFE Dept.),

Robina Hogan – United Soybean Board/Hogan Consulting,

Kanti Jasani – Performance & Technical Textile Consulting, and

Dr. Seshadri Ramkumar -Texas Tech University (TIEH Dept.). 

The full competition guidelines for 2012 can be found at:

Photos of the winning entries are available at:

Posted on June 19, 2012

Source: AATCC