Burlington Chemical Co. Inc., Burlington, N.C., has announced that Phil Bowers was appointed vice
president of textile sales. He has been with the company since 1996.Prior to joining the company,
Bowers served as sales and technical manager, North America, for Zeneca Colors.The International
Colour Association (AIC), Lawrenceville, N.J., recently honored Fred W. Billmeyer Jr. with the
Deane B. Judd Award for lifetime contributions to the field of color. The award was presented at
the AIC Interim Meeting, held recently in Warsaw, Poland.Billmeyer was honored for his dedication
to the area of color education, where he directed and mentored 30 post-baccalaureate and many more
baccalaureate candidates in the field of color science.The American Association of Textile Chemists
and Colorists (AATCC), Research Triangle Park, N.C., has announced that three top textile
scientists will be honored during its 1999 International ConferenceandExhibition.Warren S. Perkins,
a senior research textile chemist in the department of textiles, merchandising and interiors at the
University of Georgia, will be presented with the Olney Medal for achievement in textile
chemistry.Perkins, a former technical editor with
ATI, received the Harold C. Chapin Award in 1998.
(See Dyeing, PrintingandFinishing News, ATI October 1998).John R. Aspland, a professor of
textile chemistry in the department of textiles, fibers and polymer science at Clemson University,
will be presented the Harold C. Chapin Award in recognition for his outstanding service to AATCC.
He worked for several companies prior to joining Clemson in 1983.Paul W. Mickler, vice president of
the Global H2O Division of Carotek, will be presented the Henry E. Millson Award for Invention for
his work in the commercialization of vacuum-slot technology for textile finishing.Mickler has been
recognized with several awards for his achievements in the industry.

October 1999