JEC Composites Innovation Awards 2024: The Finalists Line-Up Revealed

PARIS — January 9, 2024 — Annually, the JEC Composites Innovation Awards recognize successful initiatives and collaborative efforts within the composites industry. Over the past 26 years, the program has engaged more than 2,000 companies globally, honoring 225 companies and 573 partners for their outstanding achievements in composites innovation and effective partnerships. Criteria for the awards include partner involvement in the value chain, project complexity, and commercial potential.

The competition is open to any company, university or R&D Center with a compelling collaborative innovation or concept to showcase. The success of participants is closely tied to partnerships and collective intelligence. Beyond being a ceremony, these awards serve as a platform to spotlight potentially undisclosed projects, offering inspiration and motivation to an expert audience eager to explore new frontiers.

After pre-selection of the 33 finalists, one winner will be selected in each of the 11 categories:

  • Aerospace – Parts
  • Aerospace – Process
  • Automotive & Road Transportation –Parts
  • Automotive & Road Transportation – Process
  • Building & Civil Engineering
  • Circularity & Recycling
  • Digital, AI & Data
  • Equipment, Machinery & Heavy Industries
  • Maritime Transportation & Shipbuilding
  • Renewable Energies
  • Sports, Leisure & Recreation

The international jury representing the entire composites value chain includes:

•Hüseyin ATES, CTO & Compounding BU Leader, Kordsa
•Pr. Alan BANKS, Innovation & Industrial Engagement Supervisor, Ford Motor Company
•Pr. Christophe BINETRUY, Professor, Centrale Nantes / Nantes Université
•Tamara BLANCO, Composite Materials & Processes Engineer & Expert, Airbus
•Dale BROSIUS, Executive VP/Chief Commercialization Officer, IACMI – The Composite Institute
•Michel COGNET, Chairman of the Board, JEC
•Dr. Karl-Heinz FÜLLER, Manager Future Exterior and Materials, Mercedes-Benz
•Dr. Sung HA, Professor, Hanyang University
•Guy LARNAC, Technical Domain Coordinator for Materials, Structures and Industrialization JTFR, Ariane Group
•Pr. Véronique MICHAUD, Head of Laboratory for Processing of Advanced Composites (LPAC), EPFL
•Pr. Kiyoshi UZAWA, Professor/Director, Innovative Composite Center, Kanazawa Institute of Technology.

The awards ceremony will take place in Paris on February 8th, 2024.

Posted: January 9, 2024

Source: JEC Group