August 2002

Carla L. Slocum has joined
Kellwood New England, New York City, as vice president of design and merchandising
for the EMME® and Bill Burns® groups.

Sato America Inc.
, Sunnyvale, Calif., has appointed
Robert Lanzendorf OEM sales and marketing manager.

Rotex Inc. has appointed
William Herkamp president.


eWarna, Malaysia, has appointed
Ian Wolvers sales director, South Asia.

Association of Georgia’s Textile, Carpet and Consumer Products Manufacturers
, has elected the following members to its Board of Directors:
Thomas B. Gardner, chairman;
William A. Barron, Jr., vice chairman; and
Donald R. Henderson, treasurer. Elected to three-year terms were
Larry Galbraith,
Lee Bryan,
Bernie Loftis,
Allan Ray,
Jule Smith and
Doug Tingle.
Trey Hodges and
Bill Henry were elected to fill unexpired terms on the board. GTMA re-elected
Roy Bowen president, and Suzanne Wilkes secretary.

Organic Trade Association (OTA), Greenfield, Mass., presented the Special Pioneer
Award to
Bená Burda, Maggie’s Organics/Clean Clothes, for her work with organic fiber

DuPont Ink Jet, Wilmington, Del., has named
Brad Peiper global sales and service manager.

Wacker-Chemie GmbH has named
Dirk Funke president and CEO of Wacker Chemical Corp., Adrian, Mich.

Dan River Inc., Danville, Va., has promoted
Mark Tapp to vice president, cotton procurement.


The Hosiery Association (THA), Charlotte, has elected the following officers:
Kevin Toomey, chairman;
Charles Cole, first vice chairman; and
Fritz Schulte, second vice chairman.

Bruce Lev has joined the Board of Directors of Pittsfield, Mass.-based
Pittsfield Plastics Engineering Inc. and Precision Spools Inc.

Woolrich Inc., Woolrich, Pa., has appointed
Todd Yates vice president, sales and marketing.


Ondeo Nalco, Naperville, Ill., has named
Jack Shubert group vice president and president of the Specialty Division.

West Point, Ga.-based
WestPoint Stevens Inc. announced
M. Katherine Dwyer will serve a second term on the Board of Directors and the
board’s Audit Committee. The company has appointed
Gerald Moore, director, bath product innovation; and
Henny Schlesinger Lakin bath shop design manager.

Robert A. (Bob) Britton has joined
BBA Nonwovens, Old Hickory, Tenn., as president, North American Hygiene/Medical.

Astrup Co. has made the following appointments:
Brent Bianchina and
Sharon Winchester, account representatives, and
Danette N. Gunderson, assistant manager, Hayward, Calif.;
Jamie Bly, account representative and
Lisa Didiano, metro account representative, Cleveland;
Paul Medler, account representative, St. Louis; and
Chris Spizzirri, account representative, Sante Fe Springs, Calif.
Keith J. Brauner has been promoted to operations supervisor of Astrup’s recently
relocated distribution facility in St. Louis.

Fire-Dex Inc., Medina, Ohio, has named
Karen Anderson south central regional sales manager.

TMI Group of Companies, Islandia, N.Y., has promoted
Richard Young to vice president of sales.

Bill Haile has received the Chairman Award for outstanding volunteer service to
Association of the Nonwoven Fabrics Industry (INDA), Cary, N.C. The award was
presented at INDA’s annual meeting.

John Rizzo
has joined
Tompkins Brothers Co. Inc., Syracuse, N.Y., as president. He replaces
Bill Savage, who has retired.

Savage (left) and Rizzo

Anselm C. Griffin has been appointed chair of the Atlanta-based
Georgia Institute of Technology’s School of Textile and Fiber Engineering.

Cotton Incorporated, New York City, has named
Robin Merlo company director of marketing communications.