Home    Resource Store    Past Issues    Buyers' Guide    Career Center    Subscriptions    Advertising    E-Newsletter    Contact

More People

November/December 2015
November 24, 2015

September/October 2015
September 22, 2015

August 2015
August 18, 2015

July 21, 2015

June 2015
June 16, 2015

Textile World Photo Galleries
November/December 2015 November/December 2015

View Issue  |

Subscribe Now  |


Vietnam Fashion, Fabric & Garment Machinery Expo
11/25/2015 - 11/27/2015

From Farm To Fabric: The Many Faces Of Cotton - The 74th Plenary Meeting of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC)
12/06/2015 - 12/11/2015

Capstone Course On Nonwoven Product Development
12/07/2015 - 12/11/2015

- more events -

- submit your event -

Printer Friendly
Full Site

April 2010

Australian Wool Innovation Ltd., Australia, has appointed Stuart McCullough acting CEO.

The Norcross, Ga.-based Technical Association of the Pulp, Paper, Packaging and Converting Industries (TAPPI) has named Frank J. Sutman, Ashland Hercules Water Technologies; and Ronald Van Gilder, Sappi Fine Paper NA, as 2010 TAPPI Fellows. 

Miami-based Empire Investment Holdings has appointed Shannon C. Marshall CEO and Scott M. Sannes CFO of Polyester Fibers LLC, Conover, N.C.

Switzerland-based Vortex Valves GmbH has appointed Oliver Küng sales manager.

Oliver Küng

New York City-based 24 Seven Inc. has named Bob Nahas vice president.

The American Apparel and Footwear Association, Arlington, Va., has named Killick Datta, International Brand Partners LLC, chairman of the Board of Directors.

Stylesight, New York City, has awarded the top three prizes in the international Stylesight Student Print Competition for the spring/summer 2011 season to the following textile design students from Philadelphia University: Soo Kyung Joung, first place; Arpita Kohli, second place; and Jullanar Abdul-Zahir, third place.

Wichita, Kan.-based Invista has appointed Derek Young global sustainability manager, Invista Performance Surfaces and Materials.

Germany-based Invista European Polymer & Resins GmbH has named Ottmar Schmidt general manager.

Ottmar Schmidt

Duluth, Ga.-based Nordson Corp.'s Adhesive Dispensing Systems Group has promoted George Porter to vice president, North American Adhesives sales and service; John Schnarr to director, strategic marketing; and Alan Ramspeck to manager, product management. Nordson also has named David Titone director, business development and sales operations.

The Hohenstein Institute, Germany, has presented the 2009 textil+mode Innovation Award to Gregor Hohn, Elisabeth Holzer and Michael Sontag.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed the following new members to the Memphis, Tenn.-based Cotton Board for a three-year term: Jeff Posey, producer, Texas; Teel Warbington, producer, Georgia; Kimberly Pettit, importer, North Carolina; and Monica Gorman, importer, Pennsylvania. Vilsack also has appointed the following new alternate members for three years: Adam Hatley, producer, Arizona; Mark Wright, producer, Texas; Craig Brown, producer, Mississippi; Jonathan Brewer, importer, California; and Chris Fisher, importer, Wisconsin.

The Research Triangle Park, N.C.-based American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC) has announced the winners of the 2010 AATCC Concept 2 Consumer® (C2C) Student Design Competition. In the Fabric Design Challenge, first place went to Sarah Buck Mueller, Drexel University, for "Shamanism-Spirit of the Summer"; and second place to Laura Jefferson, University of Wisconsin, Madison, for "Seaside Serenity." For the Product Design Challenge, Courtney Fitzpatrick, Cornell University, won first place for "Hot Hot Hot"; and Emily B. Parks, Illinois State University, won second place for "Tide Me Over."

Waxman Fibres Ltd., England, has promoted Peter Seward to technical director.

Saddle Brook, N.J.-based Unilux Inc. has named Matthew Runo senior engineer.

Germany-based assyst GmbH has added Dr. Jürgen Rudolph to its PLM team.

Jürgen Rudolph

Montreal-based Visual 200 International Inc. has named Eric Dahan director of sales for Retail PLM. The company also has established a strategic partnership with Joe Facenda, under which he will market, implement and support the company's solutions in the Western United States.

Elon, N.C.-based Elon University has awarded the Frank S. Holt Jr. Business Leadership Award to Allen E. Gant Jr., Glen Raven Inc.

Peabody, Mass.-based TÜV SÜD America Inc. has named Scott Griggs general manager, consumer goods and retail services; and Dan Pacheco account manager, consumer goods and retail services.

Lawrenceville, N.J.-based Datacolor has appointed Tae Park chief technology officer and vice president, product engineering.

Dalton, Ga.-based Shaw Industries Group Inc. has named Bob Burton divisional vice president, Tuftex product management and marketing.

The National Textile Association (NTA), Boston, has elected the following officers for 2010-2011: Roger Berkley, Weave Textiles LLC, chairman; George Shuster, Cranston Print Works Co., vice chairman; Karl Spilhaus, NTA, president and secretary; Hank Truslow Jr., Sunbury Textile Mills, vice president; and Henry Truslow, Sunbury Textile Mills, treasurer. NTA also elected the following directors for 2010-2011: Charles Adams, Victor Group Inc; Justin Barnett, Highland Industries Inc.; John Bishop, Pendleton Woolen Mills; Kathi Dutilh, Milliken & Company; Rick Osborne, Woolrich Inc.; Steve Perry, Darlington Fabrics; and Ed Ricci, Duro Textiles LLC. The association also has awarded Alyssa Medeiros, a student at UMass Dartmouth, the NTA Bronze Medal for 2010.

Switzerland-based Sanitized AG has named Dr. Heinz Katzenmeier head of Innovation and Product Development and Dr. Roland Harbig research and development manager, Textiles.

Dallas-based Market Center Management Company has named DeDe Anderson West Coast sales manager, GlobalTex: L.A. International Textile & Sourcing Fair®.