Home    Resource Store    Past Issues    Buyers' Guide    Career Center    Subscriptions    Advertising    E-Newsletter    Contact

Textile World Photo Galleries
November/December 2015 November/December 2015

View Issue  |

Subscribe Now  |


From Farm To Fabric: The Many Faces Of Cotton - The 74th Plenary Meeting of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC)
12/06/2015 - 12/11/2015

Capstone Course On Nonwoven Product Development
12/07/2015 - 12/11/2015

2nd Morocco International Home Textiles & Homewares Fair
03/16/2016 - 03/19/2016

- more events -

- submit your event -

Printer Friendly
Full Site
Textile News

ATHF Inducts Three Industry Leaders In Class Of 2005

The American Textile Hall of Fame (ATHF) recently inducted its Class of 2005 during a ceremony held last month at the Lowell, Mass.-based American Textile History Museum (ATHM), which houses ATHF. The fifth class of inductees includes three textile industry leaders selected by ATHF’s Board of Governors.

ATHF Class of 2005 awards were presented to (left to right): Cornelius "Buck" Vander Weele, former president and CEO, Saco-Lowell Shops; Adriana Scalamandré Bitter, co-chairman, and Robert F. Scalamandré Bitter, co-president, Scalamandré Silks; and Robert C. Jackson. Photographed by Frank Leone

Robert C. Jackson is past director, National Cotton Council, Washington office, and former executive vice president and CEO of the American Textile Manufacturers Institute, a Washington-based advocacy group that was a forerunner of the National Council of Textile Organizations.

The Saco-Lowell Shops was formed in 1912 from the Lowell Machine Shop, Lowell; the Pettee Machine Shop, Newton, Mass.; and the Biddeford, Maine-based Saco Water Power Co. Originally a leading textile machinery manufacturer, the company continues today as Saco-Lowell Parts LLC, Easley, S.C., to provide global service for its machinery.

Scalamandré Silks, Ronkonkoma, N.Y. — established in 1929 by Franco and Flora Scalamandré — became renowned for reproductions and original designs of fabrics and wallpaper for the White House and other public buildings, and private homes.

October 2005