Home    Resource Store    Past Issues    Buyers' Guide    Career Center    Subscriptions    Advertising    E-Newsletter    Contact

Textile World Photo Galleries
November/December 2015 November/December 2015

View Issue  |

Subscribe Now  |


From Farm To Fabric: The Many Faces Of Cotton - The 74th Plenary Meeting of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC)
12/06/2015 - 12/11/2015

Capstone Course On Nonwoven Product Development
12/07/2015 - 12/11/2015

2nd Morocco International Home Textiles & Homewares Fair
03/16/2016 - 03/19/2016

- more events -

- submit your event -

Printer Friendly
Full Site
Textile News

ATHM Inducts Four Industry Leaders Into ATHF's Class Of 2004

The American Textile History Museum (ATHM), Lowell, Mass., inducted four textile industry leaders into the American Textile Hall of Fame's (ATHF's) Class of 2004 during a ceremony held last month at the museum.


ATHF's Class of 2004 inductees pose with ATHM officials. Left to right: Michael J. Smith, ATHM president and CEO; Joseph H. Anderer, accepting for American Viscose Corp.; W. Duke Kimbrell; Gaylon Booker, accepting for NCC; Jack Lenor Larsen; and John H. Pearson Jr., chairman, ATHM Board of Trustees (Photograph courtesy of Frank J. Leone Jr.)

The honorees include: American Viscose Corp., an early man-made fiber industry leader that operated the first US-based rayon plant in Marcus Hook, Pa., from 1910 until 1963; W. Duke Kimbrell, chairman, Parkdale Mills Inc., Gastonia, N.C., who led the company to become the largest cotton yarn producer in the United States; Jack Lenor Larsen, internationally acclaimed textile designer and innovator, and founder of the New York City-based design studio that bears his name; and the National Cotton Council (NCC), a Memphis, Tenn.-based organization that represents the interests of the US cotton industry from growers to textile manufacturers.

October 2004